Hotel Lincoln

Hotel Lincoln
91 Cardigan Street
Carlton VIC  3053
03 9347 4666
Open: 7 days for lunch & dinner
Website

As many of you are aware, we are regulars of the Hotel Lincoln and have already reviewed their fine food here.  However, we recently took our wonderful friends T & J there so they could enjoy the famed steak tartare. So, I thought I would share our thoughts on some of the dishes we hadn’t already reviewed.

Oysters Natural, Green Chilli Chutney

The seafood loving T opted for half a dozen oysters as his main – and generously shared them around.  My goodness… these oysters were so amazing… So good – we had to order another half a dozen!!  They were creamy, fresh and gorgeous.  I’m sorry – I can’t remember what variety they were – but knowing Ross and his staff – they would only opt for the freshest and best tasting oysters of the day, so they’re subject to change.  The green chilli chutney is fresh and vibrant – and not too much heat.  Gorgeous!

Vegetarian Mezze Platter

 T & J opted to share the vegetarian mezze platter as their main dish – and it was choc-a-block full of good things.  From what I can remember, there was (from top left) – olives; vegetarian fataya; homemade falafel; pickled and fresh vegetables; more olives; zucchini fritters with herbed yoghurt; some soused tomato, onion and okra; fresh bread and hummous; and labneh spiced with dukkah.   I think this is another dish where the contents change depending on what’s available and in season.  T & J thoroughly enjoyed the platter and struggled to finish everything – it was such a generous serve!

Passionfruit Semifreddo

Ooohhh… I am a bad food blogger.  Truth is… it’s been a while since this visit – and this dessert is no longer on the menu and I couldn’t remember exactly what it was. However, I described it to Leo, the restaurant manager, when we visited this week and he reminded me it was the Passionfruit Semifreddo.  It was fantastic!  Creamy, flavourful, great texture – just plain yummy…. but, as I said – not available anymore… so this is really just a tease!

Chocolate sandwich, Campari and Orange Jelly

However,…. this dessert is still on the menu (phew!).   And it tastes as decadent as it looks – certainly not for the faint hearted, this is a good dessert to share!  The chocolate mousse is intense and rich and lovely.  The thin short biscuits in between add a delightful crunch, and the passionfruit and campari jelly add just the right level of sweet acidity to cut through the chocolately goodness!

As usual, the Hotel Lincoln delivered in spades.  There’s a reason we keep going back – the service and the food are brilliant.  Whenever I have that craving for steak tartare – I go to Hotel Lincoln… it’s ruined me for it anywhere else!! But as you can see from this post – there’s plenty of reasons to keep going back.  This is a highly recommended gastropub.  Go, and enjoy!  Tell them Dining Nirvana sent you 🙂

.
Hotel Lincoln on Urbanspoon

