Annie’s Provedore & Produce Store

Annie’s Provedore & Produce Store
2/50 Hitchcock Avenue,
Barwon Heads  VIC
5254 3233
Open 7 days for breakfast & lunch,  Dinner Thu – Sun

Website

This was the day of my big train journey out to the Bellarine Peninsula, to visit my wonderful friend S in Barwon Heads.

First thing I did was wander up to Spencer Street and caught the VLine train to Marshall (via Geelong). It is marvellous isn’t it – that you can get there in just over an hour.

Once I was picked up at the station, and deposited my belongings at her home - we went for a wander up to the main street.  Great friend S took great delight in showing me all the treasures that this great little town has produced over the five or so years since I last visited.  It certainly has become a foodie’s treasure trove.  We decided to have a coffee at Annie’s.  We didn’t actually eat there – because we were having lunch at Oakdene Estate and wanted to pace ourselves! The coffee is really full flavoured and strong – so be warned.

I was incredibly impressed with was the quality and quantity of the products on offer – DeCecco pasta and olive oils, Zealy Bay Sourdough bread, Mount Zero olives and products, Maggie Beer products, Christine Manfield pastes, and Herbie’s spices – just to name a few. A fantastic range of quality provisions.

In addition – I did have a little drool over the cake display..

Coffee and walnut cupcakes, caramel slice, Sicilian chocolate cake (which is obviously a best seller – as there’s two in the display!), orange and coconut cake,  lemon and pistachio cake, rasperry frangipane slice, ginger cake… oh my goodness…. how good does that look?!

And on their website I see they mention a bike club with regular Saturday morning rides at 7:30am!  I’m in!!  It looks like a brilliant set up – lots of great looking food kept coming out, and this is clearly a winner with locals and tourists alike.  I can’t wait to try out the breakfasts!

Annie's Providore on Urbanspoon

